Jousting with My Shopping Trolley

When I enter the supermarket I’ve actually enter a medieval jousting tournament. My trolley is my horse and as usual I’ve picked a lame one. One of the wheels is sticking but it was fine outside the shop. I decide to carry on, not wanting to waste anymore time by going back only to picking another lame one.

As I approach the fruit and vegetables I spot my first opponent. They have the better trolley and a good command of it. We’ve make eye contact and we both want to go down the same narrow space left in the middle of a congested aisle. There’s a short pause before one of us makes a move and it’s me. I just want some carrots and what seems to be a very mundane task has become a battle of wills. But, all my efforts are wasted when another shopper block’s my path by pushing their trolley in front of me only to get some spuds. I’m left to pick up second prize the unwanted scrawny carrots left by my opponent but I’m not defended and move onto diary.

It’s cold down there and there’s tension in the air. We all want to get out of this is aisle as quickly as possible. There’s a lot of posturing, looks and I Finally get out unmarked.

Going down dried groceries is easier said than done. There many obstacles, mainly other shoppers stopping for a chat. They oblivious to everyone one else wanting to get passed them or someone wanting something off the shelf they are standing by.

But, I’ve survived the joust around the store and now make my way to the checkouts. I’ve spotted a free one and check for a challenger. I have one, my first opponent who had taken all the good carrots. So, for the second time, we make eye contact but this time I have the advantage. Their trolley is overloaded with mostly barbecue food and MY CARROTS. This time I feel victory is mine, my bad wheel is on my left and I have to turn left. So, I’m going to go for it and so is my opponent. But, we are both beating on the last leg of the race by another shoppers. They have come out of the end of the aisle by the free checkouts and straight to it.

It was a relief to get home but whilst unpacking I realised I’ve forgotten the bread. So, I have to return to the shop to take part in a different ritual. The ten item or less queue where everyone checks for someone who has eleven or more items. Anyone who has will be severely punished with a glares from the rest of us.

Leave a comment